When an active domain name expires, it may still be renewed by the present owner for about 2 months following the expiration and even though it will not be active, it cannot be used by someone else. When the domain name is not renewed by that point, however, it gets into a 5-day deletion period and after that it's released to the general public. Throughout the deletion period everybody will be able to submit a backorder for the domain through an ICANN-approved registrar and the provider will use its registry channel to attempt to register the domain name on behalf of the user as soon as it is available. Since a lot of registrars can try to acquire a given domain and names are acquired on first-come, first-serve basis, there isn't any guarantee that using such an automated service will give you possession over it, however this is the best way to get an attractive domain name as trying to register it manually almost certainly means that you'll be far too late.
Domain Backorder in Shared Hosting
All shared hosting plans that we offer include a domain backorder service as standard as we partner with an ICANN-certified registrar. You may order a domain from your Hepsia Control Panel where you will discover a list of all the domain names planned to be deleted in the next few days. Useful filters will enable you to narrow the list, so rather than going through thousands of names, you could search for a specific phrase, specify the extension along with the length, or browse only domain names that will be erased on a specific date. The filters will save you considerable time and placing a backorder will take you only a single click. In case we obtain the domain that you wish to have, it will be available in your Control Panel instantly. In the event that we aren't successful, the money for it will be available in your account and you will be able to use it for other domains - new registrations, renewals or backorders.